Alaska SR22 Insurance

Alaska SR22 Insurance Information

Most offenses will require you to have this insurance for three years from the end date of any revocation. DWI and Refusal convictions SR-22 is required for five years from the end date of the first offense. SR22 insurance must be maintained for the life of the driver if there is Unsatisfied Judgment or after the fourth DWI or Refusal conviction.

How do I get an SR22 policy started?

An SR-22 form is just an add on to an auto insurance policy which is very simple. Have your court case information ready to provide to the insurance company that will include the case number and required time to hold the SR22. The insurance company will normally charge between $20 and $50 to add the form to the policy.

SR-22 Quotes:

What is the penalty for cancelling my SR22 policy early?

If you let your SR-22 insurance policy lapse or cancel prior to the end of your court ordered period the driver's license will be revoked. In this case your suspension period will start over. Keep in mind that you can change insurance companies during this period but be sure to get a new SR22 filed before the old one is cancelled.

Alaska SR22 Requirements

The state of Alaska requires liability insurance to protect other drivers in the event of an accident. The minimum limits are:

    • $50k Per Person Bodily Injury
    • $100k Per Accident Bodily Injury
    • $25k Property Damage

While these limits are minimum they are rarely recommended levels of coverage. Ask your insurance agent what they recommend based on your financial position. Failure to have proper SR22 insurance can result in a suspension of a driver's license. Proof of insurance must be present while driving a motor vehicle.

Alaska now accepts electronic proof of insurance during traffic stops.

Suspended License Information and Requirements

In Alaska you can have your driver's license suspended for one of the following:

  • Failure to Pay Child Support
  • Defaulting on a Promissory Note
  • Failure to carry liability insurance while driving
  • Accumulation of points on your record
  • Unsatisfied Judgment

Can I contest my suspension of driving privilege?

Yes, you will need to request an administrative hearing which will delay the suspension until a decision is made by the hearing officer. Find out more about administrative hearings.

Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Alaska

When you are ready to get your drivers license reinstated there are a few steps that need to happen. You will need to apply for a new license which may require some of the following:

  • Pay license fee related to your traffic violation
  • Provide proof of insurance including the SR22 form
  • Bring government issued identification documents
  • Complete the required ASAP (Alcohol Safety Action Program) if needed
  • Pass the written test, vision test and road test if applicable

Reinstatement fees can range from $100 for one action not including a DUI and up to $500 for multiple DUI's. Refer to the states website for more specific information and the most up to date pricing. DUI is also known as driving under the influence.

Required to Install an Ignition Interlock Device?

If you have been convicted for DUI and/or Refusal to a chemical test the court will order you to have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed. This device will require you to test your breath for alcohol prior to the vehicle starting and may be required throughout the drive.

What if I live in a remote location where vehicle registration is not required?

The court judge may allow you to operate vehicles without installing an IID but it is solely up to the judge. Alaska has IID providers throughout the state so it should not be an issue to get one installed. For a list of areas that are exempt from registration.

I don't own a car, do I still need an IID?

If you don't own a vehicle you can choose not to drive during your probation period. If you do drive the vehicle must have an IID installed. It is recommended to get an Alaska State ID card during this time you are not driving.

How much does an IID cost to install?

For details on ignition interlock devices and the cost associated contact a certified vendor. List of ignition interlock providers.

Alaska SR22

SR22 Articles

5 Ways to Reduce the Cost of SR22 Insurance

Learn About SR22 Insurance

FR44 Form for Florida and Virginia

Tips to Find Cheap SR22 Insurance Online

How to Remove or Cancel SR22 Filing Without Being Penalized

Will My Auto Insurance Company Drop Me After A DUI?

State Resources

Division of Motor Vehicles

Driver License Office Locations

Reinstatement Requirements

More SR22 Information

 

SR22 Insurance FAQs

What is an SR-22?

Where do I get cheap SR22 insurance?

Can I get an SR-22 if I don't own a car?

How long is the SR-22 valid?

How much does SR22 insurance cost?

What if I move to another state, do I need an SR22?

Can I switch insurance companies when I have an SR22?

Who needs an SR22?

Is SR22 insurance valid in multiple states?

Do I need an SR 22 for each vehicle I own?

 

SR22 by State

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana

Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
Washington D.C.
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming