Connecticut SR22 Insurance

Connecticut SR22

SR-22 insurance is a form that is attached to an auto insurance policy that provides the state with continuous proof of liability insurance. This way if your policy is cancelled the state will be notified immediately and your license will be suspended again.

How much does SR22 insurance cost in Connecticut?

The cost of adding an SR22 is approximately $25 but your insurance will likely increase due to the nature of the traffic violation. For example if you are convicted of driving under the influence your auto insurance will increase substantially due to the increased risk. To get the most updated insurance costs try to get multiple quotes from top companies in your area to compare rates. We provide a free online service to compare rates, just enter your zip code in the box.

What violations require SR-22 insurance?

  • Failure to maintain proper liability insurance
  • DUI/DWI violations
  • Too many points on license within a certain period of time
  • Failure to pay child support
  • Other suspensions like failure to pay parking tickets

Which insurance companies offer SR22 insurance in Connecticut?

Most auto insurance companies in the state offer SR-22 filings including Geico, Esurance, and Allstate. More companies do provide the form so when you are getting quotes just make sure you tell them you need an SR-22.

SR-22 Quotes:

Connecticut Liability Insurance Requirements

The state of Connecticut requires liability insurance to protect other drivers in the event of an accident. The minimum limits are:

    • $20k Per Person Bodily Injury
    • $40k Per Accident Bodily Injury
    • $10k Property Damage

While these limits are minimum they are rarely recommended levels of coverage. Ask your insurance agent what they recommend based on your financial position.

Suspended License Information and Requirements

License suspension and revocation information is shared with all 50 states. You cannot issue a driver's license if you have an active suspension. There is no notification when the suspension has ended as that information is on the letter you receive when action is first taken. In order to reinstate your license know your eligibility date and specific reinstatement requirements. This information can be found on the letter or from the information at the court hearing.

Court ordered suspensions require a clearance from the court while other suspensions may require an SR-22. You may be asked to take a written and/or road skills test. Reinstatement fees vary so be sure to ask the state office. If all requirements have been met to reinstate except paying the fees you can reinstate online.

Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Connecticut

Connecticut has driving laws that prohibit drivers from operating a motor vehicle if they are under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs. The limits are determined by blood alcohol concentration or BAC level. These are the maximum BAC levels that a driver can have in Connecticut:

  • All drivers = .08%
  • Drivers under age 21 = .02%
  • Commercial drivers = .04%

For a first DUI offense the fine is $500 to $1000 including jail time of 48 hours up to 6 months. Your driver's license will be suspended for one year and you will be required to complete 100 hours of community service.

Implied Consent Law

In the state of Connecticut you give consent to a chemical test of your blood, breath, or urine to determine BAC. If you refuse to take this test the penalties are similar to that of a first DUI conviction.

Required to get an Ignition Interlock Device?

If you have been convicted of your second DUI or vehicular assault you will need to install an IID into each vehicle you operate. This device will test your blood alcohol content prior to starting the vehicle in order to prevent the driver from driving under the influence.

All costs associated with installing and maintaining the IID is the sole responsibility of the driver. Each IID must be installed by a certified vendor in the state. For more information on Connecticut's Ignition Interlock Device program visit the state website.

Connecticut SR22

SR22 Articles

5 Ways to Reduce the Cost of SR22 Insurance

Learn About SR22 Insurance

FR44 Form for Florida and Virginia

Tips to Find Cheap SR22 Insurance Online

How to Remove or Cancel SR22 Filing Without Being Penalized

Will My Auto Insurance Company Drop Me After A DUI?

State Resources

Department of Motor Vehicles

Driver License Office Locations

Online Services

 

SR22 Insurance FAQs

What is an SR-22?

Where do I get cheap SR22 insurance?

Can I get an SR-22 if I don't own a car?

How long is the SR-22 valid?

How much does SR22 insurance cost?

What if I move to another state, do I need an SR22?

Can I switch insurance companies when I have an SR22?

Who needs an SR22?

Is SR22 insurance valid in multiple states?

Do I need an SR 22 for each vehicle I own?

 

SR22 by State

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana

Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
Washington D.C.
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming