Delaware SR22 Insurance

Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Delaware

The state of Delaware imposes strict laws regarding driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs. The limits to operate a motor vehicle within legal limit are as follows:

  • Add drivers = .08% BAC
  • Commercial drivers = .04% BAC
  • Drivers under age 21 = .02% BAC

DUI Insurance Quotes:

Delaware Implied Consent Law

Your driver's license will be revoked if you refuse to take a chemical test of your blood, breath, or urine. The arresting officer may attempt to conduct the test without your consent within reasonable force.

What is Delaware's First Offense Election?

If a driver is convicted of their first DUI in Delaware and has never had another DUI conviction they can elect to join the First Offense program. This program allows drivers that have been under suspension for at least 30 days to have an ignition interlock device installed and reinstate the license. The IID must be installed for at least 5 months.

For more information on DUI convictions read more on the states website.

Need an Ignition Interlock Device installed?

Delaware has two programs designed for drivers who need an ignition interlock device. The first offense election and a voluntary IID program designed for 2nd DUI offenders and drivers who refused the chemical test.

How much does an IID cost?

Installation of the IID is $70 plus a monthly charge of $75 to rent the equipment. Choose the appropriate IID application depending on your violation.

Delaware SR22 Information

The state of Delaware currently does not require SR-22 insurance. If you have moved from another state which required you to carry SR22 insurance please ask your insurance agent what course of action you should take prior to cancelling your policy.

Do not let the insurance policy lapse or cancel as the provider will notify the state and your license will be suspended again. The SR22 is an add on to a standard auto insurance policy that guarantees the state will be notified of any change in status and is commonly referred to as a future financial responsibility filing. You can change insurance companies but be sure to get a new SR22 filed before the old one is cancelled.

Delaware Liability Insurance Requirements

The state of Delaware requires liability insurance to protect other drivers in the event of an accident. The minimum limits are:

    • $15k Per Person Bodily Injury
    • $30k Per Accident Bodily Injury
    • $10k Property Damage

While these limits are minimum they are rarely recommended levels of coverage. Ask your insurance agent what they recommend based on your financial position.

License Suspension and Reinstatement

License suspension and revocation information is shared with all 50 states. You cannot issue a driver's license if you have an active suspension. There is no notification when the suspension has ended as that information is on the letter you receive when action is first taken. In order to reinstate your license know your eligibility date and specific reinstatement requirements. This information can be found on the letter or from the information at the court hearing.

What is an habitual offender in Delaware?

Any driver that is convicted of three or more following violations in the last 5 years is considered an habitual offender:

  • Driving under suspension or revocation
  • Driving without a license
  • Reckless driving
  • DUI - driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs
  • Using a motor vehicle in a felony
  • Manslaughter

This list is not exhaustive but gives you a good idea of what not to do.

How much does it cost to reinstate my Delaware license?

  • $25 to reinstate a suspended license
  • $143.75 to reinstate a revoked or cancelled license

Other fees including the cost to install an IID or driving tests are not included in this.

Delaware SR22

SR22 Articles

5 Ways to Reduce the Cost of SR22 Insurance

Learn About SR22 Insurance

FR44 Form for Florida and Virginia

Tips to Find Cheap SR22 Insurance Online

How to Remove or Cancel SR22 Filing Without Being Penalized

Will My Auto Insurance Company Drop Me After A DUI?

State Resources

Department of Motor Vehicles

Driver License Office Locations

Online Services

Drivers Services - Suspensions

 

SR22 Insurance FAQs

What is an SR-22?

Where do I get cheap SR22 insurance?

Can I get an SR-22 if I don't own a car?

How long is the SR-22 valid?

How much does SR22 insurance cost?

What if I move to another state, do I need an SR22?

Can I switch insurance companies when I have an SR22?

Who needs an SR22?

Is SR22 insurance valid in multiple states?

Do I need an SR 22 for each vehicle I own?

 

SR22 by State

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana

Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
Washington D.C.
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming