Georgia SR22 Insurance

Georgia SR22

Georgia state law requires any driver convicted of operating a motor vehicle under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol to maintain an SR22 insurance policy for a minimum of three (3) years. In addition to an DUI a driver may need an SR22 for the following violations:

  • Reckless driving
  • Conviction of DUI (Driving Under Influence) under age 21
  • No insurance or failure to provide proof
  • Felony evading
  • Other violations that require an SR22 in Georgia

What is the penalty for letting my Georgia SR22 insurance policy lapse?

If you fail to keep your SR-22 auto insurance policy current the insurance company will notify the Georgia DDS. Once the state is aware you have cancelled your policy they may impose the following:

  • License suspension or revocation
  • Addition fines
  • Start mandatory SR22 insurance policy period over with potentially longer period

SR22 Insurance Quotes:

Which auto insurance companies offer SR-22 filing and non-owner SR22 policies?

Almost all licensed auto insurance companies in Georgia offer SR22 insurance and non-owner policies. Some of the largest carriers in Georgia include Allstate, Geico, Progressive and Nationwide. All of these companies can write a non-owner SR22 which assumes you don't own any vehicle but need liability insurance to drive in Georgia.

Georgia Liability Insurance Requirements

If you are required to file an SR22 with the state of Georgia the liability requirements are as follows:

    • $25k Per Person Bodily Injury
    • $50k Per Accident Bodily Injury
    • $25k Property Damage
    • $2k Medical Payments Per Accident

While these limits are minimum they are rarely recommended levels of coverage. Ask your insurance agent what they recommend based on your financial position.

Georgia now accepts electronic proof of insurance during traffic stops.

Suspended License Information and Requirements

License suspension and revocation information is shared with all 50 states. You cannot issue a driver's license if you have an active suspension. There is no notification when the suspension has ended as that information is on the letter you receive when action is first taken. In order to reinstate your license know your eligibility date and specific reinstatement requirements. This information can be found on the letter or from the information at the court hearing.

In most cases, you will need to provide the original Certificate of Completion from an approved DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program and a reinstatement fee. Because there may be other outstanding issues, you should contact 678-413-8400 for information specific to your driver license.

Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Georgia

It is against the law to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or above. The state of Georgia has different acceptable levels depending on the type of driver.

All Drivers - BAC LIMIT = 0.08%
Drivers under 21 = 0.02%
Commercial Drivers = 0.04%

Open Container Law - A fine of $200 may be imposed for any open alcoholic beverage container inside a moving vehicle. This includes containers with any amount of alcohol that the seal has been broken or contents partially emptied.

DUI Insurance Quotes:

GA Implied Consent Law

This law requires Georgia drivers to submit to a chemical test of blood, urine, or breath if the driver is suspected of driving under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol. If you refuse to submit a chemical test in Georgia your license will be suspended/revoked for the following timeframe:

First Refusal - 1 year license revoked

State of Georgia Website - Drunk driving laws

Required to get an Ignition Interlock Device?

Ignition interlock devices must be installed on any vehicle operated by anyone who has been convicted of certain alcohol-related offenses. This device detects alcohol on breath and is installed on a motor vehicle. It will prevent an alcohol-impaired person from starting the vehicle and may require random tests to be completed during a drive.

For more information regarding Georgia Ignition Interlock Device.

Georgia SR22

SR22 Articles

5 Ways to Reduce the Cost of SR22 Insurance

Learn About SR22 Insurance

FR44 Form for Florida and Virginia

Tips to Find Cheap SR22 Insurance Online

How to Remove or Cancel SR22 Filing Without Being Penalized

Will My Auto Insurance Company Drop Me After A DUI?

State Resources

Department of Motor Vehicles

Driver License Office Locations

Online Services

Vehicle Insurance Status Check

 

SR22 Insurance FAQs

What is an SR-22?

Where do I get cheap SR22 insurance?

Can I get an SR-22 if I don't own a car?

How long is the SR-22 valid?

How much does SR22 insurance cost?

What if I move to another state, do I need an SR22?

Can I switch insurance companies when I have an SR22?

Who needs an SR22?

Is SR22 insurance valid in multiple states?

Do I need an SR 22 for each vehicle I own?

 

SR22 by State

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana

Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
Washington D.C.
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming