Illinois SR22 Insurance

Illinois SR22

In Illinois drivers who are required to file an SR-22 form will need to maintain it for one (1) to three (3) years. This type of insurance is primarily there to prevent future uninsured accidents. If your violation occurred after January 1, 2008 the SR22 period is three years.

What types of violations require me to file an SR-22?

  • Failure to maintain proper liability insurance
  • Unsatisfied judgment suspension
  • Revocation of license
  • Drivers who receive three or more convictions for mandatory insurance violations

Is there an alternate method to file proof of financial responsibility?

Yes, the state offers the ability to not only file an SR-22 insurance form but also accepts cash, securities, or a surety bond in the amount of $55,000. The SR-22 filing is the most widely used method but some individuals prefer the bond or cash option.

SR22 Quotes:

How do I avoid SR-22 cancellations?

Each insurance company is required to notify the Secretary of State if they have not received payment for renewal 15 days prior to expiration. Once they are notified the suspension process begins but you can avoid this by paying your renewal at least 30 days prior to expiration.

Illinois SR22 Insurance Requirements

The state of Illinois requires all drivers with an SR22 to maintain liability insurance to protect other drivers in the event of an accident. The minimum limits are:

    • $20k Per Person Bodily Injury
    • $40k Per Accident Bodily Injury
    • $15k Property Damage

While these limits are minimum they are rarely recommended levels of coverage. Ask your insurance agent what they recommend based on your financial position.

Illinois now accepts electronic proof of insurance during traffic stops.

Suspended License Reinstatement Process

If you have a suspended license due to Statutory Summary Suspension you can reinstate your license after the suspension period and pay $250 reinstatement fee. Once your driving record is updated to reflect the lift on suspension you license is valid again.

If this is the second or more suspension the reinstatement fee is $500 and the court where your DUI case was processed will hold your driver's license.

You can pay the reinstatement fee via check, cashier's check or money order made payable to the Secretary of State. Be sure to include your driver's license number on the check and mail to:

Secretary of State
Driver Services Department
2701 S. Dirksen Parkway
Springfield, Illinois 62723

Suspension and revocation fees can be paid via telephone using a credit card.

Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Illinois

What is Statutory Summary Suspension?

Your license can be suspended for 6 or 36 months based on the following scenarios:

  • If you refuse to submitting a chemical test of your blood, breath, or urine
  • The chemical test shows a BAC .08% or higher
  • Any drug substance or intoxicating compounds are found

If you are convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) the state will revoke your license for at least one year. This is in addition to the Statutory Summary Suspension period. If this is the second offense in 20 years your license will be revoked for 5 years.

DUI Insurance Quotes:

What are the penalties for first time DUI offenders in Illinois?

  • Fines up to $2500
  • Jail time up to 18 months if a child is in the vehicle
  • Suspended license for one year
  • Illinois SR22 Insurance required
  • Ignition interlock device required in some cases

While these are just a few of the potential penalties for DUI offenders it is not a comprehensive list. Refer to your court documents to know what is required of you after a DUI conviction.

Illinois SR22

SR22 Articles

5 Ways to Reduce the Cost of SR22 Insurance

Learn About SR22 Insurance

FR44 Form for Florida and Virginia

Tips to Find Cheap SR22 Insurance Online

How to Remove or Cancel SR22 Filing Without Being Penalized

Will My Auto Insurance Company Drop Me After A DUI?

State Resources

Department of Motor Vehicles

Driver's License Office Locations

Suspension and Reinstatement

Basic Fees

 

SR22 Insurance FAQs

What is an SR-22?

Where do I get cheap SR22 insurance?

Can I get an SR-22 if I don't own a car?

How long is the SR-22 valid?

How much does SR22 insurance cost?

What if I move to another state, do I need an SR22?

Can I switch insurance companies when I have an SR22?

Who needs an SR22?

Is SR22 insurance valid in multiple states?

Do I need an SR 22 for each vehicle I own?

 

SR22 by State

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana

Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
Washington D.C.
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming