Kentucky SR22 Insurance

Kentucky SR22

An SR-22 is a form that is attached to your auto insurance policy providing the state with proof of insurance continually. In most cases you will be required to maintain the SR-22 for three years from the end of your suspension period. Here is a list of possible reasons you need to file an SR22 with the state:

  • Driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs (DUI)
  • Habitual offender (multiple traffic violations within a period of time)
  • Involved in an accident with serious injury or death resulted
  • Accumulation of points on driving record - 12 points in two years

How do I get an SR-22 form?

The SR-22 is a form the insurance company completes for the state motor vehicle department. If you currently have auto insurance be sure to have your case information ready to provide to your company such as the case number. If you are not currently insured or want to compare rates of other companies try our online service that will provide you will up to 5 quotes from competing companies. Once the company has all the information about your case they will electronically submit the SR-22 form to the state so you don't have to mail it in.

SR22 Quotes:

Kentucky Liability Insurance Requirements

The state of Kentucky requires liability insurance to protect other drivers in the event of an accident. The minimum limits are:

    • $25k Per Person Bodily Injury
    • $50k Per Accident Bodily Injury
    • $10k Property Damage

While these limits are minimum they are rarely recommended levels of coverage. Ask your insurance agent what they recommend based on your financial position.

Kentucky now accepts electronic proof of insurance during traffic stops.

Suspended License Information and Requirements

License suspension and revocation information is shared with all 50 states. You cannot issue a driver's license if you have an active suspension. There is no notification when the suspension has ended as that information is on the letter you receive when action is first taken. In order to reinstate your license know your eligibility date and specific reinstatement requirements. This information can be found on the letter or from the information at the court hearing.

Court ordered suspensions require a clearance from the court while other suspensions may require an SR-22. You may be asked to take a written and/or road skills test. Reinstatement fees vary so be sure to ask the state office. If all requirements have been met to reinstate except paying the fees you can reinstate online.

Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Kentucky

First Time Offenders

A driver with no prior DUI in the past 5 years is considered a first time offender. The following are penalties associated with a first time DUI:

  • Fines ranging from $200 to $500
  • Required to attend a substance abuse program for 90 days
  • License is revoked for 30 to 120 days
  • Jail time from 2 to 30 days

There are situations that increase your jail time to 4 days such as speeding more than 30 mph over the limit or BAC greater than .17%.

Implied Consent Law

When you are given your driver's license you agree to consent to a chemical test of your blood, breath or urine by a law officer that assumes you having been driving under the influence. If you refuse the test your license will be suspended for 6 months and up to 5 years. The officer involved is required to advise the driver of the penalties for refusing the chemical test.

DUI Insurance Quotes:

Required to get an Ignition Interlock Device?

Here is a list of approved ignition interlock device vendors:

  • Alcohol Sensors International, Ltd - (888) 854-1922
  • Consumer Safety Technology, Inc - (877) 777-5020
  • Draeger Safety Diagnostics, Inc - (800) 332-6858
  • LifeSafer Interlock, Inc - (800) 531-0006

Kentucky SR22

SR22 Articles

5 Ways to Reduce the Cost of SR22 Insurance

Learn About SR22 Insurance

FR44 Form for Florida and Virginia

Tips to Find Cheap SR22 Insurance Online

How to Remove or Cancel SR22 Filing Without Being Penalized

Will My Auto Insurance Company Drop Me After A DUI?

State Resources

Department of Motor Vehicles

Driver's License Office Locations

DUI Laws in Kentucky

Driving History Records

 

SR22 Insurance FAQs

What is an SR-22?

Where do I get cheap SR22 insurance?

Can I get an SR-22 if I don't own a car?

How long is the SR-22 valid?

How much does SR22 insurance cost?

What if I move to another state, do I need an SR22?

Can I switch insurance companies when I have an SR22?

Who needs an SR22?

Is SR22 insurance valid in multiple states?

Do I need an SR 22 for each vehicle I own?

 

SR22 by State

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana

Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
Washington D.C.
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming