Massachusetts SR22 Insurance

Massachusetts SR22

SR22 insurance is designed to validate you have state minimum liability insurance and if it is cancelled the insurance company will notify the RMV. An SR-22 form is simply added to your existing auto insurance policy for a small fee of $25-$50 depending on the company you choose.

How long do I need to have an SR22 in MA?

The standard requirement is three years from the end of your suspension period or what is ordered by the court. Do not cancel the policy prior to the end of your probation period as the state will suspend your license again and you will likely have to start over again.

What is the cheapest SR-22 policy?

SR22 Quotes:

The best way to get the cheapest auto insurance policy is to shop around for quotes. We offer a simple online tool to compare rates from 5 different companies and it only takes a couple minutes. Just enter your zip code above to start.

There are a few tricks to getting the lowest monthly premium for SR22 insurance so read 5 Ways to Reduce the Cost of SR22 Insurance.

Massachusetts Liability Insurance Requirements

The state of Massachusetts requires liability insurance to protect other drivers in the event of an accident. The minimum limits are:

    • $20k Per Person Bodily Injury
    • $40k Per Accident Bodily Injury
    • $10k Property Damage
    • $8K Personal Injury Protection

While these limits are minimum they are rarely recommended levels of coverage. Ask your insurance agent what they recommend based on your financial position.

Suspended License Information and Reinstatement

Reinstatement fees range from $50 to $1,200 depending on the violation. If the suspension or revocation is related to the following you must see a Hearing Officer to reinstate:

  • OUI - Operating Under the Influence of Alcohol and/or Drugs
  • Habitual Traffic Offender
  • Vehicular Homicide or Manslaughter

For most other traffic offenses you can visit any full service RMV branch office.

Operating Under the Influence (OUI) in Massachusetts

If an officer suspects you have been driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs they will ask you to perform a chemical test of your blood, breath or urine. The state law prohibits any driver over 21 years old to operate under the influence with a blood alcohol concentration of .08% or higher.

If you are under the age of 21 the BAC limit is .02% and you will be required to participate in a Youth Alcohol Program. The suspension period is 180 days in addition to the YAP requirement.

OUI Insurance Quotes:

Refusal of Chemical Test

If you refuse to take the chemical test for BAC your license will be immediately suspended for 180 days if this is your first OUI. The suspension period increases to three years if this is your second OUI conviction.

Any driver under the age of 21 that refuses the chemical test will have his/her license suspended for three years with no prior OUI.

Required to get an Ignition Interlock Device?

If you are required to get an ignition interlock device (IID) the cost of installation and repairs are your responsibility. In most cases an IID is required for your 2nd DUI conviction.

The IID must be installed by a certified vendor like:

  • Alcohol Detection Systems (888) 786-7384
  • CST Intoxilock (877) 777-5020
  • Lifesafer (800) 987-8040
  • Smart Start (800) 880-3394

If you remove the IID prior to the end of the required period without authorization your license may be revoked for 10 years. Be sure to get approval from a Hearings Officer if you need to remove the device.

MA SR22

SR22 Articles

5 Ways to Reduce the Cost of SR22 Insurance

Learn About SR22 Insurance

FR44 Form for Florida and Virginia

Tips to Find Cheap SR22 Insurance Online

How to Remove or Cancel SR22 Filing Without Being Penalized

Will My Auto Insurance Company Drop Me After A DUI?

State Resources

Registry of Motor Vehicles

Driver's License Office Locations

Driving Record Copy

Drivers License Reinstatement Online

 

SR22 Insurance FAQs

What is an SR-22?

Where do I get cheap SR22 insurance?

Can I get an SR-22 if I don't own a car?

How long is the SR-22 valid?

How much does SR22 insurance cost?

What if I move to another state, do I need an SR22?

Can I switch insurance companies when I have an SR22?

Who needs an SR22?

Is SR22 insurance valid in multiple states?

Do I need an SR 22 for each vehicle I own?

 

SR22 by State

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana

Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
Washington D.C.
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming