Maryland SR22 Insurance

Maryland SR22

The state of Maryland may require you to obtain SR-22 insurance certificate in order to reinstate your license. This certificate can be added to your existing auto insurance policy or added to a new policy. Once the SR-22 is added the insurance company will submit the form to the state and the state will notify you via mail they received it.

For most suspensions the SR-22 will be needed for three years but can be as long as 5 years depending on court decision.

Don't let the policy lapse prior to the end of your probation period because your license will be suspended again. You may also pay more in fees to the state and higher insurance costs due to the lapse of coverage.

SR22 Quotes:

Maryland Liability Insurance Requirements

The state of Maryland requires liability insurance to protect other drivers in the event of an accident. The minimum limits are:

    • $20k Per Person Bodily Injury
    • $40k Per Accident Bodily Injury
    • $15k Property Damage

While these limits are minimum they are rarely recommended levels of coverage. Ask your insurance agent what they recommend based on your financial position.

Suspended License Information and Requirements

License suspension and revocation information is shared with all 50 states. You cannot issue a driver's license if you have an active suspension. There is no notification when the suspension has ended as that information is on the letter you receive when action is first taken. In order to reinstate your license know your eligibility date and specific reinstatement requirements. This information can be found on the letter or from the information at the court hearing. Some reinstatements can be done at local Driver's License offices such as:
    • Unpaid Tickets
    • Child Support
    • Point Suspensions

If you are mailing in an application be sure to complete the Application for Reinstatement and include a check or money order for $95 plus any specific requirements like an SR22.

Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Maryland

Depending on your blood alcohol concentration at the time of testing you may be convicted of a DWI or DUI. The DWI or driving while impaired is received if your BAC is .07% while a DUI or driving under the influence is .08% or higher.

The DUI carries higher fines and longer suspension periods on average. For first time offenders you will face up to 1 year in jail time and up to a $1000 fine. Suspension period is at least 45 days.

DUI Insurance Quotes:

Is a DWI cheaper for auto insurance?

Most auto insurance companies will treat a DWI and DUI the same as far a rates are concerned. With most companies they will consider the DUI or DWI for 3 to 5 years. This means your rates will be higher during this time period due to the violation. Even if your no longer required to carry SR22 insurance you may still pay higher rates for that DUI 4 years down the road.

Required to get an Ignition Interlock Device?

If you are required to install an ignition interlock device you must get it installed by a certified vendor. Here is a list of accepted vendors in Maryland:

  • Smart Start Interlock (800) 880-3394
  • Guardian Interlock (800) 499-0994
  • Draeger Interlock (800) 332-6858
  • National Interlock (800) 374-5760

The cost to install and maintain the IID is your responsibility and you must install an IID in each vehicle you operate.

Maryland SR22

SR22 Articles

5 Ways to Reduce the Cost of SR22 Insurance

Learn About SR22 Insurance

FR44 Form for Florida and Virginia

Tips to Find Cheap SR22 Insurance Online

How to Remove or Cancel SR22 Filing Without Being Penalized

Will My Auto Insurance Company Drop Me After A DUI?

State Resources

Motor Vehicle Administration

Driver's License Office Locations

Driving Record Copy

Drivers License Suspension Info

 

SR22 Insurance FAQs

What is an SR-22?

Where do I get cheap SR22 insurance?

Can I get an SR-22 if I don't own a car?

How long is the SR-22 valid?

How much does SR22 insurance cost?

What if I move to another state, do I need an SR22?

Can I switch insurance companies when I have an SR22?

Who needs an SR22?

Is SR22 insurance valid in multiple states?

Do I need an SR 22 for each vehicle I own?

 

SR22 by State

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana

Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
Washington D.C.
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming