Michigan SR22 Insurance

Michigan SR22

If you are required to file an SR22 for the state of Michigan contact an insurance company or agent who is licensed to sell insurance in Michigan. You will be required to carry state minimum liability limits and continue the insurance policy for the duration of your specific court requirement.

What is an SR-22 form?

In the event your license has been suspended you may be required to show proof of future financial responsibility. The SR-22 form is simply an auto insurance policy with the SR22 attached to provide proof of insurance to the state in real time. If you cancel the policy the insurance company will notify the state electronically and your license will be suspended again.

SR22 Quotes:

For more information on Michigan auto insurance read the 2008 state report.

Michigan Liability Insurance Requirements

The state of Michigan requires liability insurance to protect other drivers in the event of an accident. The minimum limits are:

    • $20k Per Person Bodily Injury
    • $40k Per Accident Bodily Injury
    • $10k Property Damage

While these limits are minimum they are rarely recommended levels of coverage. Ask your insurance agent what they recommend based on your financial position.

Suspended License Information and Requirements

License suspension and revocation information is shared with all 50 states. You cannot issue a driver's license if you have an active suspension. There is no notification when the suspension has ended as that information is on the letter you receive when action is first taken. In order to reinstate your license know your eligibility date and specific reinstatement requirements. This information can be found on the letter or from the information at the court hearing.

Court ordered suspensions require a clearance from the court while other suspensions may require an SR-22. You may be asked to take a written and/or road skills test. Reinstatement fees vary so be sure to ask the state office. If all requirements have been met to reinstate except paying the fees you can reinstate online.

Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Michigan

Michigan law states it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle:

  • When your BAC or blood alcohol concentration is .08% or higher
  • Any presence of cocaine or schedule 1 drugs
  • While intoxicated by alcohol and/or drugs

Drivers under the age 21 have a zero tolerance policy of .02% BAC or higher.

DUI Insurance Quotes:

Implied Consent Law

All drivers are have given the state consent to test their blood, breath or urine in the event you are suspected of driving under the influence of alcohol. If you refuse this test your license will be suspended for one year and 6 points will be added to your driving record.

Does Michigan have a restricted license program?

Yes, you must serve 30 days of suspension before you are eligible to obtain a restricted license. Hardship license is not available to repeat or habitual offenders.

Required to get an Ignition Interlock Device?

Repeat offender's in Michigan need to install ignition interlock device's in each vehicle they operate. This means if you have two or more alcohol related convictions within a seven year period.

In order to be eligible for an IID the violator needs to fulfill his/her revocation period. At that time the IID can be installed and a restricted license will be issued. The ignition interlock device must be maintained for one year.

How much does an IID cost?

Each vendor can charge competitive rates to install and maintain the device. If you are on a low income you may qualify for a maximum $1 per day cost. To see if you qualify ask one of the approved vendors.

Which vendors are approved IID installers?

SMART START MICHIGAN
1-888-234-0198
4850 Plaza Drive
Irving, TX 75063

AMERICAN INTERLOCK
1-800-580-0504
10520 Hickman, Suite F
Des Moines, IA 50325

MICHIGAN INTERLOCK, LLC
1-888-786-7384
1718 Belmont Avenue, Suite E
Baltimore, MD 21244

NATIONAL INTERLOCK SERVICE
1-888-294-7002
512 Reading Road
Cincinnati, OH 45202

NEW HORIZON INTERLOCK INC
1-800-597-5054
4040 W Royal Lane
Suite 136
Irving, TX 75063

Michigan SR22

SR22 Articles

5 Ways to Reduce the Cost of SR22 Insurance

Learn About SR22 Insurance

FR44 Form for Florida and Virginia

Tips to Find Cheap SR22 Insurance Online

How to Remove or Cancel SR22 Filing Without Being Penalized

Will My Auto Insurance Company Drop Me After A DUI?

 

State Resources

Department of Motor Vehicles

Driver's License Office Locations

Driving Record Copy

SR22 Insurance FAQs

What is an SR-22?

Where do I get cheap SR22 insurance?

Can I get an SR-22 if I don't own a car?

How long is the SR-22 valid?

How much does SR22 insurance cost?

What if I move to another state, do I need an SR22?

Can I switch insurance companies when I have an SR22?

Who needs an SR22?

Is SR22 insurance valid in multiple states?

Do I need an SR 22 for each vehicle I own?

 

SR22 by State

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana

Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
Washington D.C.
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming