Minnesota SR22 Insurance

Minnesota SR22

An SR-22 form is a certificate of insurance that shows the state you have at least minimum liability limits. It also requires the insurance company to notify the state department of motor vehicles if the policy is cancelled.

If your license is suspended you will likely need to file an SR-22 in order to reinstate your license. Some types of suspension require SR22 insurance such as:

  • Driving without proper liability insurance
  • Driving on a suspended or revoked license
  • Driving while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs

How long do I need an SR22 in MN?

In most cases the SR-22 must be maintained for a minimum of three years but the time period can vary based on the court's decision.

What types of SR-22 insurance are there?

The SR-22 form is attached to a standard auto insurance policy with three types of filings:

  • Operator - covers the financial responsibility in the case the motorist does not own a vehicle.
  • Owner - covers the financial responsibility for vehicles owned by the motorist.
  • Owner/Operator - Certificate covers financial responsibility for all the vehicles that are owned or non-owned by the motorist.

SR22 Quotes:

How do I file the SR22 with Minnesota DMV?

The SR-22 filing is processed by a state approved insurance company. If you currently have auto insurance ask your agent to add the SR22. If you need auto insurance or want to compare rates use our free service to shop around.

Once the auto insurance company has added the SR-22 they will electronically submit the form to the state. Within 30 days you should see an acceptance letter confirming your SR22 is approved. You will need to maintain the filing for a period of three years.

Minnesota Liability Insurance Requirements

The state of Minnesota requires liability insurance to protect other drivers in the event of an accident. The minimum limits are:

    • $30k Per Person Bodily Injury
    • $60k Per Accident Bodily Injury
    • $10k Property Damage

While these limits are minimum they are rarely recommended levels of coverage. Ask your insurance agent what they recommend based on your financial position.

Minnesota now accepts electronic proof of insurance during traffic stops.

Suspended License Information and Requirements

License suspension and revocation information is shared with all 50 states. You cannot issue a driver's license if you have an active suspension. There is no notification when the suspension has ended as that information is on the letter you receive when action is first taken. In order to reinstate your license know your eligibility date and specific reinstatement requirements. This information can be found on the letter or from the information at the court hearing.

Court ordered suspensions require a clearance from the court while other suspensions may require an SR-22. You may be asked to take a written and/or road skills test. Reinstatement fees vary so be sure to ask the state office. If all requirements have been met to reinstate except paying the fees you can reinstate online.

Driving While Impaired (DWI) in Minnesota

Minnesota law prohibits any driver from operating a motor vehicle if:

  • Arrested for driving while intoxicated (DWI)
  • Blood alcohol concentration (BAC) .08% of higher
  • Blood alcohol concentration (BAC) .04% of higher in commercial vehicle

You can also be convicted of DWI if the law enforcement officer determines you made driving errors due to alcohol even below .08% BAC.

A result of your first DWI conviction is a suspended license for at least 30 days. Fines can run $1000 and you may even need to serve jail time up to 90 days.

DWI Insurance Quotes:

Minnesota Ignition Interlock Program Details

For those drivers arrested for driving while impaired (DWI) there is a way to reinstate your license sooner if you participate in the ignition interlock program (IID). The IID is installed on each vehicle the suspended driver operates and is the size of a hand-held calculator. The device prevents the vehicle from starting if it detects a pre-determined level of alcohol on breath.

How much does the IID cost?

The cost to have the IID installed can range from $90 to $100 depending on the vendor you choose. Each month you are responsible for a maintenance fee of $60 to $125. In addition to the installation and maintenance you may need to reset the device after a failed test or have it removed which can cost $50.

Where can I get an IID installed in Minnesota?

There are multiple locations that provide certified installation of ignition interlock devices. Depending on the service provider there may be a location nearer to you:

Draeger

Guardian Interlock Systems

Smart Start MN

Consumer Safety Technology Inc

Minnesota SR22

SR22 Articles

5 Ways to Reduce the Cost of SR22 Insurance

Learn About SR22 Insurance

FR44 Form for Florida and Virginia

Tips to Find Cheap SR22 Insurance Online

How to Remove or Cancel SR22 Filing Without Being Penalized

Will My Auto Insurance Company Drop Me After A DUI?

State Resources

Department of Motor Vehicles

Driver's License Office Locations

Crash Record Copy

 

SR22 Insurance FAQs

What is an SR-22?

Where do I get cheap SR22 insurance?

Can I get an SR-22 if I don't own a car?

How long is the SR-22 valid?

How much does SR22 insurance cost?

What if I move to another state, do I need an SR22?

Can I switch insurance companies when I have an SR22?

Who needs an SR22?

Is SR22 insurance valid in multiple states?

Do I need an SR 22 for each vehicle I own?

 

SR22 by State

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana

Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
Washington D.C.
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming