Mississippi SR22 Insurance

Mississippi SR22

An SR-22 filing is required when drivers have their license suspended and need to provide proof of insurance to the state. If you have been convicted of the following you will need to file an SR-22 to get your license reinstated:

  • Driving on a suspended license or revoked license
  • Driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs
  • DUI for drivers under age 21
  • Hit and Run

How much does SR-22 cost in Mississippi?

The cost of the SR-22 is only $25 to $50 depending on the insurance company you choose. That is the cost to add the form to your auto policy but the actual cost of the insurance is directly related to your driving history and the reason you need the SR22. Take for example a driver who recently was convicted of a DUI, this driver's car insurance increased dramatically when he asked to file an SR22 because the company pulled his motor vehicle record to confirm the DUI charge. It is best to shop around for rates from the top companies to find the cheapest policy. Use our free service to compare companies like Amica, American Family and Progressive.

How long do I need to carry an SR-22 in Mississippi?

Most drivers will need to maintain their SR22 policy for three years from the end date of the suspension.

Which insurance companies offer SR22 insurance in Mississippi?

SR22 Quotes:

Most auto insurance companies will provide an SR-22 for you but we team up with the best companies in the state such as Progressive and Allstate to find the best rates.

Mississippi Liability Insurance Requirements

The state of Mississippi requires liability insurance to protect other drivers in the event of an accident. The minimum limits are:

    • $25k Per Person Bodily Injury
    • $50k Per Accident Bodily Injury
    • $25k Property Damage

While these limits are minimum they are rarely recommended levels of coverage. Ask your insurance agent what they recommend based on your financial position.

Mississippi now accepts electronic proof of insurance during traffic stops.

Suspended License and How To Reinstate

The first step to get your license reinstated is confirm you have fulfilled the suspension requirements. This includes the suspension period and documents have been completed. All of this information can be found in your suspension paperwork by the court.

I need to file an SR-22 to reinstate my license, where can I get one?

You can ask your current insurance company to add an SR-22 to your auto policy or we would recommend comparing rates from other companies to make sure you are not paying too much. Use our free online service to compare up to five different companies.

Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Mississippi

It is unlawful to operate a motor vehicle in Mississippi if you are under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs. In most cases law enforcement officers will ask you to test a chemical test of your blood, urine, or breath to get your blood alcohol concentration (BAC). The state has limits that define if a driver is impaired:

  • All drivers = .08% BAC or higher
  • Under age 21 = .02% BAC
  • Commercial drivers = .04% BAC

What happens on my first DUI offense?

Your first DUI will cost you money and time but if you learn from that lesson you can be back on the road in as little as 90 days. Here is a list of fines and jail time that you can expect:

  • Fines ranging from $250 to $1000
  • Jail time up to 48 hours
  • Completion of alcohol safety program
  • License suspension of at least 90 days

MS SR22

SR22 Articles

5 Ways to Reduce the Cost of SR22 Insurance

Learn About SR22 Insurance

FR44 Form for Florida and Virginia

Tips to Find Cheap SR22 Insurance Online

How to Remove or Cancel SR22 Filing Without Being Penalized

Will My Auto Insurance Company Drop Me After A DUI?

 

State Resources

Department of Motor Vehicles

Driver's License Office Locations

Driving Record Copy

Drivers License Reinstatement Online

 

SR22 Insurance FAQs

What is an SR-22?

Where do I get cheap SR22 insurance?

Can I get an SR-22 if I don't own a car?

How long is the SR-22 valid?

How much does SR22 insurance cost?

What if I move to another state, do I need an SR22?

Can I switch insurance companies when I have an SR22?

Who needs an SR22?

Is SR22 insurance valid in multiple states?

Do I need an SR 22 for each vehicle I own?

 

SR22 by State

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana

Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
Washington D.C.
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming