North Carolina SR22 Insurance

North Carolina SR22 Auto Insurance

While the state of North Carolina doesn't use SR-22 insurance forms to confirm insurance requirements they still require proof of insurance to reinstate your license.

How do I find the cheapest auto insurance in NC?

The best way to save money on auto insurance in North Carolina is to compare rates from top companies. In the past you would need to call each company to get quotes which could take many hours to complete. Today you can use our online service which takes less than 5 minutes to complete a simple and secure form. This service will get quotes from up to 5 different companies allowing you to compare rates and coverage options.

Auto Insurance Quotes:

North Carolina Liability Insurance Requirements

The state of North Carolina requires liability insurance to protect other drivers in the event of an accident. The minimum limits are:

    • $30k Per Person Bodily Injury
    • $60k Per Accident Bodily Injury
    • $25k Property Damage

While these limits are minimum they are rarely recommended levels of coverage. Ask your insurance agent what they recommend based on your financial position.

Suspended License Information and Requirements

North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles may suspend your license for many different violations. Below is a chart of the violation and suspension period:

Violation
Suspension Period
Speeding 15mph+ over the limit when in 55 mph zone or higher 30 revocation
Second charge of speeding 15mph+ over the limit when in 55 mph zone or higher within one year 60 days
Speeding plus reckless driving on the same occasion 60 days
Driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs - 1st offense 1 year
DUI - 2nd offense 4 years
DUI - 3rd offense Permanent
Manslaughter 1 year
Death by vehicle 1 year
Manslaughter while DUI Permanent
Prearranged racing with another motor vehicle on the highway 3 years
Refusal to submit chemical test for DUI 1 year

Driving While Impaired (DWI) in North Carolina

North Carolina has many different penalties and fines for driving while impaired so we will leave it to your court decision to layout what is expected. What we can show you is the legal limits and what to expect for first convictions.

The level of blood alcohol concentration (BAC) determines if a driver is driving illegally. Below is a list of limits that will cause a DWI conviction:

  • All drivers = .08% BAC or higher
  • Drivers under age 21 = .02% or higher
  • Commercial drivers = .04% or higher

What if I refuse the BAC test?

This is also considered Implied Consent Law which states that when you get your driver's license you have given consent to a chemical test of your blood, breath or urine if suspected of driving while impaired. If you refuse this test your license will be suspended for 30 days then a court will determine if your license should be suspended for 1 year.

Required to get an Ignition Interlock Device?

In March 2010 the Division of Motor Vehicles started a study to update the standards used by it's Ignition Interlock Program. Any proposed changes will likely take place in 2011.

Currently an IID is required for your second and subsequent driving while intoxicated (DWI) offense.

How much does an IID cost to install?

The cost to install and maintain the IID is the responsibility of the driver. Installation cost including the first two months of service is $170 plus taxes. Subsequent months are $60 plus tax to maintain the IID.

NC Auto Insurance

SR22 Articles

5 Ways to Reduce the Cost of SR22 Insurance

Learn About SR22 Insurance

FR44 Form for Florida and Virginia

Tips to Find Cheap SR22 Insurance Online

How to Remove or Cancel SR22 Filing Without Being Penalized

Will My Auto Insurance Company Drop Me After A DUI?

State Resources

Department of Motor Vehicles

Driver's License Office Locations

Driving Record Copy

Drivers License Reinstatement Online

 

SR22 Insurance FAQs

What is an SR-22?

Where do I get cheap SR22 insurance?

Can I get an SR-22 if I don't own a car?

How long is the SR-22 valid?

How much does SR22 insurance cost?

What if I move to another state, do I need an SR22?

Can I switch insurance companies when I have an SR22?

Who needs an SR22?

Is SR22 insurance valid in multiple states?

Do I need an SR 22 for each vehicle I own?

 

SR22 by State

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana

Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
Washington D.C.
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming