Nebraska SR22 Insurance

Nebraska SR22

Do not let the insurance policy lapse or cancel as the provider will notify the state and your license will be suspended again. The SR22 is an add on to a standard auto insurance policy that guarantees the state will be notified of any change in status and is commonly referred to as a future financial responsibility filing. You can change insurance companies but be sure to get a new SR22 filed before the old one is cancelled.

The SR-22 filing must be in effect on the date you meet the requirements to reinstate your operating privileges no matter if you own a vehicle in the state of Nebraska. Below are the different time requirements depending on the violation type:

  • Point Revocations – SR-22 needs to be on file for three (3) years from the date eligible for reinstatement.
  • No Proof of Insurance – three (3) years from the date the ticket was issued.
  • Court Ordered Revocations – three (3) years from the date eligible for reinstatement.
  • Accident Suspensions – SR-22 only required to be on file the date of license reinstatement.
  • Unsatisfied Judgment Suspensions – SR-22 only required to be on file the date of license reinstatement.
  • Default in Payment / Default in Payment – SR-22 only required to be on file the date of license reinstatement.
  • Employment Drive Permits – SR-22 only required to be on file until the employment drive permit expires.  (If you were revoked for a point accumulation, the SR-22 would be required for an additional period of time as indicated above.)

SR22 Quotes:

Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles
Financial Responsibility Division
301 Centennial Mall South
P.O. Box 94877
Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4877

Phone: 402-471-3985
Fax: 402-471-8288

Office Hours:
Monday – Friday
8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Central Time

Nebraska Liability Insurance Requirements

The state of Nebraska requires liability insurance to protect other drivers in the event of an accident. The minimum limits are:

    • $25k Per Person Bodily Injury
    • $50k Per Accident Bodily Injury
    • $25k Property Damage

While these limits are minimum they are rarely recommended levels of coverage. Ask your insurance agent what they recommend based on your financial position.

Suspended License Information and Requirements

License suspension and revocation information is shared with all 50 states. You cannot issue a driver's license if you have an active suspension. There is no notification when the suspension has ended as that information is on the letter you receive when action is first taken. In order to reinstate your license know your eligibility date and specific reinstatement requirements. This information can be found on the letter or from the information at the court hearing.

Court ordered suspensions require a clearance from the court while other suspensions may require an SR-22. You may be asked to take a written and/or road skills test. Reinstatement fees vary so be sure to ask the state office. If all requirements have been met to reinstate except paying the fees you can reinstate online.

Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Nebraska

Nebraska state law prohibits driving while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs. Depending on your age and the level of blood alcohol concentration you may face charges. The following are limits set by law depending on the type of driver:

All Drivers - BAC LIMIT = 0.15%

Implied Consent Law

If you refuse to submit a chemical test in Nebraska your license will be suspended/revoked for the following timeframe:

First Refusal - 1 year suspension

2010 Nebraska DUI Law Update

Nebraska Legislative Bill 924 - Ignition Interlock Devices

If the person's operator's license has been revoked for at least a one-year period, after a minimum of a forty-five day no driving period, the person may operate a motor vehicle with an ignition interlock permit and an ignition interlock device pursuant to this subsection, and shall retain the ignition interlock permit and ignition interlock device for not less than the remainder of a one-year period, or period of revocation ordered by the court, whichever is longer.

Required to get an Ignition Interlock Device?

If you are required to have an IID installed in your vehicle you will be notified either by the court or the Nebraska DMV. If you have any questions in relation to the eligibility of the Nebraska B.A.I.I.D. program, please contact the DMV-F.R. division at (402) 471-3985.

For a list of Nebraska's approved Ignition Interlock Devices and their installers, please visit Nebraska's B.A.I.I.D. Program website.

Nebraska SR22 Insurance

SR22 Articles

5 Ways to Reduce the Cost of SR22 Insurance

Learn About SR22 Insurance

FR44 Form for Florida and Virginia

Tips to Find Cheap SR22 Insurance Online

How to Remove or Cancel SR22 Filing Without Being Penalized

Will My Auto Insurance Company Drop Me After A DUI?

State Resources

Department of Motor Vehicles

Driver's License Office Locations

Driving Record Copy

Drivers License Reinstatement Online

 

SR22 Insurance FAQs

What is an SR-22?

Where do I get cheap SR22 insurance?

Can I get an SR-22 if I don't own a car?

How long is the SR-22 valid?

How much does SR22 insurance cost?

What if I move to another state, do I need an SR22?

Can I switch insurance companies when I have an SR22?

Who needs an SR22?

Is SR22 insurance valid in multiple states?

Do I need an SR 22 for each vehicle I own?

SR22 by State

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana

Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
Washington D.C.
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming