New Hampshire SR22 Insurance

New Hampshire SR22

SR22 insurance is a certificate of insurance that provides the state will notifications if the policy is cancelled. The form is easy to add on to any auto insurance policy and usually costs $25 to $50 depending on the insurance carrier.

How long do I need to carry an SR-22 in NH?

The required SR22 period depends on the court order but will range from 3 to 5 years. For a second and subsequent DWI conviction you will be required to carry an SR-22 for 5 years.

What happens if I cancel my SR22 insurance early?

The insurance company you have filed with will notify the state that your SR-22 is no longer in force. The state will then suspend your license again until you can show proof of financial responsibility. It is never recommended to cancel or let your SR22 auto insurance policy lapse prior to the end of your court order probation period.

SR22 Quotes:

Do I need to own a car to get an SR22?

No, in fact many drivers don't own vehicles but have non-owner auto insurance policies. This type of policy allows you to meet the required liability limits and drive any vehicle. If you own a vehicle you must insure that vehicle though. You can also add an SR-22 form to a non-owner policy.

New Hampshire Liability Insurance Requirements

The state of New Hampshire requires liability insurance to protect other drivers in the event of an accident. The minimum limits are:

    • $25k Per Person Bodily Injury
    • $50k Per Accident Bodily Injury
    • $25k Property Damage

While these limits are minimum they are rarely recommended levels of coverage. Ask your insurance agent what they recommend based on your financial position.

Suspended License Information and Reinstatement

A driver's license will be suspended for accumulating too many points on the driving record within a period of time. It is a good idea to get a copy of your driving record if you are concerned with the amount of points you may have. You can also lose your driver's license for driving while impaired (DWI).

In order to reinstate your license you need to pay all fines and attend any driver improvement training or court ordered drug/alcohol rehab.

Driving While Impaired (DWI) in New Hampshire

NH state law prohibits any driver from operating a motor vehicle while impaired by alcohol and/or drugs. If you are suspected of driving under the influence the arresting officer will ask you to take a test of your blood, breath, or urine to determine the blood alcohol concentration. Below is a list of illegal limits of BAC for drivers:

  • All drivers = .08% or higher
  • Drivers under age 21 = .02% or higher
  • Commercial drivers = .04% or higher

What is Implied Consent law in New Hampshire?

When you receive your driver's license you have consented to a chemical test of your blood, urine or breath by law enforcement if suspected of driving while intoxicated. You can refuse this test but your license will be suspended immediately for 180 days. In the long run a refusal to take the test will carry higher fines and penalties than drunk driving conviction.

What is an Aggravated DWI in NH?

In addition to being arrested for driving while impaired if you are also involved in the following violations it will result in an Aggravated DWI charge:

  • BAC .16% or higher
  • Speeding 30 mph over the posted limit
  • Cause accident resulting in serious injury to other party
  • Eluding law enforcement
  • Passenger under age 16 in vehicle at time of DWI

The resulting fines and suspension periods are longer when you are convicted of an aggravated DWI. For the first offense the driver will be subject to 10 days in jail minimum, $750 fine minimum, and a suspended license for 18 to 24 months.

Required to get an Ignition Interlock Device?

In order to get your license reinstated you will need to provide the state with a certificate of installation for the IID. The cost to install and maintain the IID is the responsibility of the offender. There is relief for offenders that are unable to pay for the full cost of an interlock program. Ask the approved installer for information on a hardship credit.

SR22 insurance in NH

SR22 Articles

5 Ways to Reduce the Cost of SR22 Insurance

Learn About SR22 Insurance

FR44 Form for Florida and Virginia

Tips to Find Cheap SR22 Insurance Online

How to Remove or Cancel SR22 Filing Without Being Penalized

Will My Auto Insurance Company Drop Me After A DUI?

State Resources

Department of Motor Vehicles

Driver's License Office Locations

 

SR22 Insurance FAQs

What is an SR-22?

Where do I get cheap SR22 insurance?

Can I get an SR-22 if I don't own a car?

How long is the SR-22 valid?

How much does SR22 insurance cost?

What if I move to another state, do I need an SR22?

Can I switch insurance companies when I have an SR22?

Who needs an SR22?

Is SR22 insurance valid in multiple states?

Do I need an SR 22 for each vehicle I own?

 

SR22 by State

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana

Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
Washington D.C.
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming