New Jersey SR22 Insurance

New Jersey SR22

New Jersey does not require SR-22 insurance rather a $1000 per year insurance surcharge for 3 years. Read more under NJ DUI Law.

New Jersey Liability Insurance Requirements

The state of New Jersey requires liability insurance to protect other drivers in the event of an accident. The minimum limits are:

    • $15k Per Person Bodily Injury
    • $30k Per Accident Bodily Injury
    • $5k Property Damage
    • $15K Personal Injury Protection

While these limits are minimum they are rarely recommended levels of coverage. Ask your insurance agent what they recommend based on your financial position.

Suspended License Information and Restoration

Reasons for a license suspension in NJ:

  • Accumulation of 12 or more points on driving record
  • Failure to pay surcharges
  • Failure to provide proof of insurance
  • Reckless driving
  • Fault in fatal accident
  • Driving under influence of alcohol and/or drugs

In order to reinstate your license a $100 Restoration Fee is required. Once your suspension period is complete you will receive a Notice of Restoration in the mail.

Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in New Jersey

For first time offenders your license will be suspended for up to 90 days and face up to 30 days in jail. In addition to fines ranging from $250 to $400 you will also have to pay an insurance surcharge of $1,000 per year for three years.

Drivers with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or higher are considered breaking DUI law. If you are under the age of 21 and any amount of alcohol is detected you will be convicted of DUI.

DUI Insurance Quotes:

Can I refuse the roadside breathalyzer test?

Yes but if you refuse the test your license will be suspended for up to 1 year including a $250 to $500 fine.

Required to get an Ignition Interlock Device?

First time DUI offenders may be required to install an ignition interlock device. If the 1st time offender has a BAC .15% or higher an IID is mandatory. For 2nd and subsequent DUI offenses an IID is mandatory.

Instructions on how to obtain the IID will be included in your notice of suspension but here is a list of approved manufacturers:

Consumer Safety Technology - (877) 777-5020
Draeger Interlock Inc - (800) 970-1002
Guardian Interlock Systems - (800) 499-0994
LifeSafer Interlock Inc - (800) 475-7151

DUI Insurance in NJ

SR22 Articles

5 Ways to Reduce the Cost of SR22 Insurance

Learn About SR22 Insurance

FR44 Form for Florida and Virginia

Tips to Find Cheap SR22 Insurance Online

How to Remove or Cancel SR22 Filing Without Being Penalized

Will My Auto Insurance Company Drop Me After A DUI?

 

State Resources

Motor Vehicle Commission

Driver's License Office Locations

Driving Record Copy

 

SR22 Insurance FAQs

What is an SR-22?

Where do I get cheap SR22 insurance?

Can I get an SR-22 if I don't own a car?

How long is the SR-22 valid?

How much does SR22 insurance cost?

What if I move to another state, do I need an SR22?

Can I switch insurance companies when I have an SR22?

Who needs an SR22?

Is SR22 insurance valid in multiple states?

Do I need an SR 22 for each vehicle I own?

 

SR22 by State

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana

Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
Washington D.C.
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming