New Mexico SR22 Insurance

Suspended License in New Mexico

Most drivers in New Mexico get their license suspended due to a DWI conviction or accumulating too many points on their driving record. Each traffic violation has a point amount assigned to it and if you reach 12 points in one year your license can be suspended.

Other violations that can cause a suspended license include:

  • Driving without proper insurance
  • Failure to pay child support
  • Failure to appear in court
  • Reckless driving

Can I get a limited license to drive to work while my license is suspended?

Yes, you can apply for a limited license to drive to work, school, or court ordered treatment programs. It will cost $45 to get this type of license but not all will get approved.

New Mexico Liability Insurance Requirements

The state of New Mexico requires liability insurance to protect other drivers in the event of an accident. The minimum limits are:

    • $20k Per Person Bodily Injury
    • $50k Per Accident Bodily Injury
    • $10k Property Damage

While these limits are minimum they are rarely recommended levels of coverage. Ask your insurance agent what they recommend based on your financial position.

Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) in New Mexico

It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle while impaired by alcohol and/or drugs in New Mexico. The state imposes limits on your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) for this reason. Here are the current limits:

All drivers = BAC .08 or higher
Drivers under age 21 = BAC .02 or higher
Commercial drivers = BAC .04 or higher

While these limits are set by state law it is also possible to be convicted of DWI if it is proven in court that your ability to drive was impaired by alcohol and/or drugs.

DWI Quotes:

What if I refuse the breathalyzer test in New Mexico?

You can refuse to take the chemical BAC test but will be charged with aggravated DWI and have your license suspended for 1 year.

What are the penalties for first time DWI offenders?

  • $500 fine
  • Up to 90 days in jail
  • Attendance in DWI school
  • Participate in drivers rehabilitation program for alcohol or drugs
  • Install ignition interlock device at own expense
  • 24 hours of community service
New Mexico SR22 Insurance Information

The state of New Mexico currently does not require SR-22 insurance. If you have moved from another state which required you to carry SR22 insurance please ask your insurance agent what course of action you should take prior to cancelling your policy.

Do not let the insurance policy lapse or cancel as the provider will notify the state and your license will be suspended again. The SR22 is an add on to a standard auto insurance policy that guarantees the state will be notified of any change in status and is commonly referred to as a future financial responsibility filing. You can change insurance companies but be sure to get a new SR22 filed before the old one is cancelled.

New Mexico DWI

SR22 Articles

5 Ways to Reduce the Cost of SR22 Insurance

Learn About SR22 Insurance

FR44 Form for Florida and Virginia

Tips to Find Cheap SR22 Insurance Online

How to Remove or Cancel SR22 Filing Without Being Penalized

Will My Auto Insurance Company Drop Me After A DUI?

State Resources

Department of Motor Vehicles

Driver's License Office Locations

DWI in New Mexico

 

SR22 Insurance FAQs

What is an SR-22?

Where do I get cheap SR22 insurance?

Can I get an SR-22 if I don't own a car?

How long is the SR-22 valid?

How much does SR22 insurance cost?

What if I move to another state, do I need an SR22?

Can I switch insurance companies when I have an SR22?

Who needs an SR22?

Is SR22 insurance valid in multiple states?

Do I need an SR 22 for each vehicle I own?

 

SR22 by State

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana

Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
Washington D.C.
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming