Rhode Island SR22 Insurance

Rhode Island SR22

Why do I need to file an SR22 insurance form in Rhode Island?

In order to reinstate your driver's license you will likely need an SR-22 filed with the state for the following violations:

  • Driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs (DUI)
  • Accumulation of points on driving record
  • Reckless driving
  • Refusal to take chemical BAC test
  • Driving without proper insurance

How do I get an SR-22 filed with the state of RI?

Most auto insurance companies can add an SR22 form to your auto insurance policy for a fee of $25 to $50. The insurance company will electronically submit the SR-22 filing to the state. They will also notify the state if it ever cancels.

SR22 Quotes:

Can I purchase a bond instead of SR22 insurance?

Yes, the state will accept a surety bond in the amount of $30,000 to $50,000 depending on the violation. Most insurance agents can issue bonds for this purpose.

How long do I need to provide proof of SR-22 insurance?

In most cases you will be required to carry Rhode Island SR22 insurance for a minimum of 3 years but some cases require 5 years.

Rhode Island SR22 Requirements

The state of Rhode Island requires liability insurance to protect other drivers in the event of an accident. The minimum limits are:

    • $25k Per Person Bodily Injury
    • $50k Per Accident Bodily Injury
    • $25k Property Damage

While these limits are minimum they are rarely recommended levels of coverage. Ask your insurance agent what they recommend based on your financial position.

Suspended License Information

Each case is different in Rhode Island and must be handled on a case by case basis. For more information on your specific case contact the Division of Motor Vehicles Operator Control Division at (401) 462-0800. Questions in writing may go to:

RI Division of Motor Vehicles
Operator Control
600 New London Ave
Cranston, RI 02920

Suspended license reinstatement fee schedule:

Suspended license - $76.50 to $151.50
Suspended license for DUI or refusal to chemical test - $76.50 to $351.50
Suspended registration - $51.50 to $251.50

*A technology surcharge of $1.50 is applied to each reinstatement fee.

Make payments in cash, check or money order to RI Division of Motor Vehicles.

RI Division of Motor Vehicles
Operator Control
600 New London Ave
Cranston, RI 02920

Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Rhode Island

Driving laws exist to protect the public and one of the most deadly driver related causes is driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs. Rhode Island has laws in place to arrest drivers who are over the limit:

  • All drivers with blood alcohol concentration of .08% or higher
  • All drivers under age 21 with blood alcohol concentration of .02% or higher
  • All commercial drivers with blood alcohol concentration of .04% or higher

When a law enforcement officer suspects you of DUI he/she will ask you to submit to a chemical test of your blood, urine or breath. In this test the officer is looking for BAC limits above the state law limit.

What if I refuse to take the chemical test for BAC?

Upon refusal your license will be suspended for 90 days and you may be subject to community service, fines, and drunk driving school or alcohol treatment. You can still be convicted of a DWI if the arresting officer convinces the court you were intoxicated at the time of refusal.

Required to get an Ignition Interlock Device?

The ignition interlock program is designed for those drivers who have been convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol. The IID must be installed in each vehicle you operate and the costs are your responsibility.

Where can I get an ignition interlock device installed in RI?

B.E.S.T Labs, Inc - (877) 237-1541

New England Interlock - (800) 987-8040

Consumer Safety Technology - (877) 777-5020

Smart Start - (800) 880-3394

Rhode Island SR22

SR22 Articles

5 Ways to Reduce the Cost of SR22 Insurance

Learn About SR22 Insurance

FR44 Form for Florida and Virginia

Tips to Find Cheap SR22 Insurance Online

How to Remove or Cancel SR22 Filing Without Being Penalized

Will My Auto Insurance Company Drop Me After A DUI?

 

State Resources

Department of Motor Vehicles

Driver's License Office Locations

Driving Record Copy

 

SR22 Insurance FAQs

What is an SR-22?

Where do I get cheap SR22 insurance?

Can I get an SR-22 if I don't own a car?

How long is the SR-22 valid?

How much does SR22 insurance cost?

What if I move to another state, do I need an SR22?

Can I switch insurance companies when I have an SR22?

Who needs an SR22?

Is SR22 insurance valid in multiple states?

Do I need an SR 22 for each vehicle I own?

 

SR22 Motorcycle Insurance

SR22 Motorcycle Insurance

If you have a motorcycle and need SR22 insurance in Rhode Island get a quote for your bike. By having the SR22 insurance form on your motorcycle insurance it may save you hundreds of dollars per year.

 

SR22 by State

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana

Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
Washington D.C.
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming