Utah SR22 Insurance

Utah SR22

An SR-22 form is simply an add-on to a car insurance policy that provides the state with proof of future financial responsibility. This type of filing will notify the state motor vehicle department if the policy is cancelled or lapses.

When do I need an SR22 insurance policy in UT?

If you are trying to get your license reinstated you will likely need to file an SR-22 with the state. Here is a list of possible reasons you would need this form:

  • Accumulation of points on driving record
  • Driving under the influence (DUI)
  • Refusal of chemical test for BAC
  • Failure to maintain proper insurance
  • Failure to appear in court

How much is SR22 insurance in Utah?

Expect your auto insurance to increase 50% to 80% when you file an SR22. This is not because the SR-22 filing costs so much it is actually because of the underlying reason your license was suspended. For demonstration purposes let's assume you were convicted of a DUI which you are now ready for reinstatement. The SR-22 is only $25 to $50 for the filing but your auto insurance will increase due to the DUI conviction. The best option is to compare rates from multiple companies. Try our free online service to shop rates from top companies in Utah.

SR22 Quotes:

How long to I need to carry SR-22 insurance in Utah?

Most suspensions will require a three year filing of SR-22 form with the state but it can go up to five years depending on the court order.

Utah SR22 Requirements

The state of Utah requires liability insurance to protect other drivers in the event of an accident. The minimum limits are:

    • $25k Per Person Bodily Injury
    • $65k Per Accident Bodily Injury
    • $15k Property Damage

While these limits are minimum they are rarely recommended levels of coverage. Ask your insurance agent what they recommend based on your financial position.

Utah now accepts electronic proof of insurance during traffic stops.

Suspended License Information

Most drivers in Utah lose their driving privileges due to accumulation of points on their driving record. If you accumulate 200 or more points on your license within three years the Driver License Division will request a hearing. It is possible to have your license suspended at this hearing depending on the court decision.

Here is a breakdown of Utah's point system:

Violation Points
Speeding 35 to 75
Running red light or stop sign 50
Improper passing 50
Reckless driving 80
Failure to yield right-of-way 60
Driving on wrong side of road 60
Tailgating or Following too close 60
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Utah

It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle in Utah if you are under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs. State DUI law states a blood alcohol concentration of .08% or higher is over the limit. This doesn't mean that you can't get a DUI if you blow less than .08% on a breathalyzer. In fact if you fail the road side sobriety test but register .04% to .08% BAC you can still be convicted of DUI.

New Utah DUI law effective July 1, 2011 - Senate Bill 28

The new law changes suspension periods for drivers under age 21. The driver does not need to have a criminal conviction of DUI to enforce the law rather an arrest report itself. The new penalties are as follows:

Drivers under age 19 at arrest time and first offense:

  • Not-a-Drop arrest = One year suspension effective 30 days from arrest date
  • Per-Se arrest = Two year suspension effective 30 days from arrest date

Drivers age 19-20 at arrest time and first offense:

  • Not-a-Drop arrest = Six month suspension effective 30 days from arrest date
  • Per-Se arrest = Six month suspension effective 30 days from arrest date

If you refuse to submit to a chemical test and are under age 21 the new law states your license will be revoked for two years where it was 18 months prior to the change.

What happens on my first DUI offense?

When you are arrested for your first DUI your driver's license is suspended immediately and a long process begins. Initially your license is replaced with a temporary license for 29 days, after this period of time your license may be suspended for 120 days. If you wish to appeal this ruling you need to submit to a hearing request.

After you have spent the night in jail and your car has been impounded you now have 30 days to appear in court. This would be a good time to find an attorney to represent you at the hearing.

What is the penalty for my first DUI in Utah?

A first time DUI offender can expect the following:

  • Community service requirement
  • Fines starting at $700
  • License suspension for minimum of 90 days
  • Participation in alcohol treatment or drug abuse program
  • Installation of ignition interlock device - usually for repeat offenders
Required to get an Ignition Interlock Device?

If you have committed your second or more DUI offense you are likely required to install an ignition interlock device. This device must be installed in each vehicle you operate.

The IID will prevent the vehicle from starting if your blood alcohol concentration is above a set limit but normally set very low. Once you pass the test to start the vehicle the system will require you to re-test throughout your drive.

The ignition interlock device must be installed and maintained by an approved vendor in Utah. Here is a list of approved vendors:

Smart Start Inc - (800) 880-3394

A Plus Interlock Systems - (801) 334-7499

American Interlock - (801) 201-1255

Lifesafer Interlock - (888) 301-6906

Guardian Interlock Systems (888) 526-6384

Utah SR22

SR22 Articles

5 Ways to Reduce the Cost of SR22 Insurance

Learn About SR22 Insurance

FR44 Form for Florida and Virginia

Tips to Find Cheap SR22 Insurance Online

How to Remove or Cancel SR22 Filing Without Being Penalized

Will My Auto Insurance Company Drop Me After A DUI?

State Resources

Department of Motor Vehicles

Driver's License Office Locations

 

SR22 Insurance FAQs

What is an SR-22?

Where do I get cheap SR22 insurance?

Can I get an SR-22 if I don't own a car?

How long is the SR-22 valid?

How much does SR22 insurance cost?

What if I move to another state, do I need an SR22?

Can I switch insurance companies when I have an SR22?

Who needs an SR22?

Is SR22 insurance valid in multiple states?

Do I need an SR 22 for each vehicle I own?

 

SR22 by State

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana

Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
Washington D.C.
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming