Virginia SR22 Insurance

Virginia SR22

The SR-22 form is used in Virginia to provide the state with up to date status on your proof of liability insurance. This form is added to an auto insurance policy and normally costs $20 to $45 depending on the insurance company you choose.

When do I need an SR22 in Virginia?

Depending on the type of conviction you may be required to file an SR22 or FR44 with the Department of Motor Vehicles. Here is a list of convictions that require an SR22 insurance filing:

  • Failure to carry proper insurance
  • Falsifying insurance certification
  • Unsatisfied judgments
  • Voluntary or involuntary manslaughter resulting from operation of a motor vehicle
  • Making false affidavit to DMV regarding vehicle registration or driver's license application
  • Any felony under motor vehicle law or use of motor vehicle to commit a felony

SR22 Quotes:

Liability insurance limits for SR-22

The minimum limits of liability that must be provided on your SR22 auto insurance policy are:

$25,000 Bodily Injury per person
$50,000 Bodily Injury per occurrence
$20,000 Property damage

Virginia now accepts electronic proof of insurance during traffic stops.

Virginia FR44

What is the difference between SR22 insurance and FR44 insurance?

The FR-44 filing became law for those drivers who had the listed violations on or after January 1, 2008 in addition to those drivers needing to file an SR-22 beyond December 31, 2008. Any driver who commits the violations listed below should ask their insurance company to add an FR44 filing to their insurance policy.

When do I need an FR-44 in Virginia?

The FR-44 filing is only needed for more serious violations including:

  • Driving under the influence of intoxicants or drugs
  • Driving while license suspended or revoked
  • Maiming while under the influence
  • Violation of any federal law, other state law and/or local ordinance similar to the above listed

FR44 Quotes:

Liability insurance limits for FR-44

The minimum limits of liability that must be provided on your FR44 auto insurance policy are:

$50,000 Bodily Injury per person
$100,000 Bodily Injury per occurrence
$40,000 Property damage

Suspended License Reinstatement

Your license can be suspended for many different reasons including DUI, failure to maintain proper insurance, failure to appear in court, failure to pay child support and leaving the scene of an accident.

Most of these suspensions will require you to file either an SR-22 or FR-44 with the Department of Motor Vehicles. Since each suspension is different reference your court ordered suspension requirements for details on your suspension.

Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Virginia

The state of Virginia has strict rules regarding driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs. For first time offenders the minimum fine is $250 and a one year suspension. If a child under age 17 was in the car during the arrest you will serve a minimum of 5 days in jail in addition to fines $500 to $1000.

Blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limits in Virginia are as follows:

  • All drivers = BAC .08% or higher
  • Drivers under age 21 = BAC .02% or higher
  • Commercial drivers = BAC .04% or higher

What if I refuse the road side breathalyzer test?

If the law enforcement officer suspects you have been driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs they will ask you to perform a chemical test of your blood, urine or breathe to determine BAC. You can refuse to take the test but your penalties can be higher than if you just were convicted of a DUI. It is up to the court to determine your suspension period and fines which can add up to similar or greater penalty than a DUI conviction.

Required to get an Ignition Interlock Device?

For your first DUI offense with a BAC over .15% you will be required to install an ignition interlock device. This device is installed on each vehicle you operate and the cost is your responsibility.

Here is a list of approved IID installers in Virginia:

Smart Start Inc - (800) 880-3394

Lifesafer Interlock - (888) 301-6906

Guardian Interlock Systems (888) 526-6384

Virginia SR22

SR22 Articles

5 Ways to Reduce the Cost of SR22 Insurance

Learn About SR22 Insurance

FR44 Form for Florida and Virginia

Tips to Find Cheap SR22 Insurance Online

How to Remove or Cancel SR22 Filing Without Being Penalized

Will My Auto Insurance Company Drop Me After A DUI?

 

State Resources

Department of Motor Vehicles

Driver's License Office Locations

Driving Record Request

 

SR22 Insurance FAQs

What is an SR-22?

Where do I get cheap SR22 insurance?

Can I get an SR-22 if I don't own a car?

How long is the SR-22 valid?

How much does SR22 insurance cost?

What if I move to another state, do I need an SR22?

Can I switch insurance companies when I have an SR22?

Who needs an SR22?

Is SR22 insurance valid in multiple states?

Do I need an SR 22 for each vehicle I own?

SR22 by State

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana

Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
Washington D.C.
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming