Vermont SR22 Insurance

Vermont SR22

An SR-22 is commonly referred to as Financial Responsibility Insurance. If you are required to file this type of insurance it must be in place for 3 years. During that three year period the policy must not be cancelled or lapse for any reason or your license will be suspended again.

Can I just show my proof of insurance to the DMV for proof of SR-22?

No, the SR22 form is actually submitted electronically to the state DMV. A standard proof of insurance will not suffice for proof of SR-22 insurance.

When is an SR-22 required in Vermont?

You will be required to file an SR-22 form if convicted of any of the following violations:

  • Failure to stop and render help if involved in an accident
  • Operating, taking, using or removing a motor vehicle without the consent of the owner
  • Driving on a suspended or revoked license
  • Operating a motor vehicle without proper insurance
  • Unsatisfied judgment
  • Driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs (DUI)

SR22 Quotes:

How much does SR22 insurance cost in Vermont?

The cost of an SR-22 form is $25 to $50 but the real cost of your auto insurance will increase depending on the violation that requires the SR-22. For example if you need to file a Vermont SR22 for driving without insurance it will not increase your premium like being convicted of DUI. We recommend getting multiple quotes from different companies to see which one is cheaper. Use your free service below, just enter your zip code to start.

VT SR22 Requirements

The state of Vermont requires SR22 liability insurance to protect other drivers in the event of an accident. There are other requirements that the state will impose but this will ensure you have proper auto insurance coverage. The minimum limits are:

    • $25k Per Person Bodily Injury
    • $50k Per Accident Bodily Injury
    • $10k Property Damage

While these limits are minimum they are rarely recommended levels of coverage. Ask your insurance agent what they recommend based on your financial position. These coverage limits are the minimum accepted limits for filing an SR-22.

Suspended License Information

A suspension is a temporary withdrawal of your license versus a revocation is a cancellation of your license which requires you to reapply.

Your license can be suspended for many reasons in Vermont but here are a few of the most common violations:

  • Eluding an officer
  • Driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs (DUI)
  • Refusal to take chemical test of BAC
  • Failure to stop after being involved in an accident

Each type of violation carries a different suspension period which can be increased by court order. In order to reinstate your license you will need to complete the suspension period, submit SR-22 certificate, pass required driving exams and pay the reinstatement fee.

For more information on suspensions contact:

Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles

Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Vermont

It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle under the influence of intoxicants in Vermont. This is an obvious statement but there are important things to consider before you drink and drive.

Any law enforcement officer who suspects you of driving under the influence will ask you to submit to a test of your BAC. This test may be done via breath, blood, or urine but is commonly done with a breathalyzer. You can refuse to take this test but there are penalties to understand.

Implied Consent Law

This is the assumption when you get a driver's license that you give consent to a chemical test to determine your blood alcohol concentration. If you refuse the test your license will be suspended for six months for a first offense. There are longer suspensions and greater penalties for subsequent refusals.

What is the state BAC legal limit in VT?

All drivers with BAC under .08% is legal
Drivers under age 21 with BAC under .02% is legal
Commercial drivers with BAC under .04% is legal

While these are state limits it is not a good idea to drive after having any alcohol. If you do need to drive make sure you give yourself enough time to sober up before you drive which could be 2 or more hours depending on how much you have to drink.

Vermont SR22

SR22 Articles

5 Ways to Reduce the Cost of SR22 Insurance

Learn About SR22 Insurance

FR44 Form for Florida and Virginia

Tips to Find Cheap SR22 Insurance Online

How to Remove or Cancel SR22 Filing Without Being Penalized

Will My Auto Insurance Company Drop Me After A DUI?

 

State Resources

Department of Motor Vehicles

Driver's License Office Locations

Reinstatement Online

 

SR22 Insurance FAQs

What is an SR-22?

Where do I get cheap SR22 insurance?

Can I get an SR-22 if I don't own a car?

How long is the SR-22 valid?

How much does SR22 insurance cost?

What if I move to another state, do I need an SR22?

Can I switch insurance companies when I have an SR22?

Who needs an SR22?

Is SR22 insurance valid in multiple states?

Do I need an SR 22 for each vehicle I own?

 

SR22 by State

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana

Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
Washington D.C.
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming