Washington SR22 Insurance

Washington SR22

In Washington you may need to file an SR-22 form with the Department of Licensing due to one or more of the following violations:

  • Failure to pay child support
  • Driving while a license is revoked
  • Felony involving a motor vehicle
  • Reckless driving
  • Vehicular assault
  • Driving under the influence

Depending on the violation and court order your sr22 requirements may change. You must maintain the SR-22 insurance for a three year period after your suspension end date.

How much does SR-22 insurance cost in Washington?

Most insurance companies will charge a filing fee of $25 to $50 to add the SR-22 form to an auto insurance policy. The type of policy can be liability only, full coverage, or a non-owner policy. With regards to the cost of such policy it truly depends on the following factors and not directly related to the SR22 filing:

  • Age
  • Address
  • Credit History
  • Driving Record
  • Vehicle Model

To save money on the insurance try getting quotes from multiple companies, we have a free service that does just that. Enter your zip code and click "Get Quotes" to start the quick quote process.

SR22 Quotes:

How do I start an SR22 policy?

Getting your SR-22 submitted to the state is easy just add it to your auto insurance policy. If you don't have one you can start a new policy just ask the company to add the SR-22 information. Within 30 days the state will notify you that the form has been received.

Washington SR22 Insurance Requirements

The state of Washington requires liability insurance to protect other drivers in the event of an accident. The minimum limits are:

    • $25k Per Person Bodily Injury
    • $50k Per Accident Bodily Injury
    • $10k Property Damage

While these limits are minimum they are rarely recommended levels of coverage. Ask your insurance agent what they recommend based on your financial position.

Washington now accepts electronic proof of insurance during traffic stops.

Suspended License Information and Requirements

Types of Suspension that may require an SR22 filing:

  • DUI (Driving Under the Influence)
  • Hit and Run (of an occupied vehicle)
  • Reckless Driving
  • Cancelled Insurance

For a complete list of suspensions that require an SR-22 insurance policy.

Each suspension type has its own process to reinstate your license so be sure to follow exactly.

Court ordered suspensions require a clearance from the court while other suspensions may require an SR-22. You may be asked to take a written and/or road skills test. Reinstatement fees vary so be sure to ask the state office. If all requirements have been met to reinstate except paying the fees you can reinstate online.

Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Washington

Under Washington driving laws, it is unlawful to operate a motor vehicle with a BAC limit above the stated limit. BAC stands for blood alcohol content. The following are limits set by law:

All Drivers - BAC LIMIT = 0.08%
Minor Drivers (under age 21) - 0.02%
Commercial Drivers - BAC LIMIT = 0.04%

Driving under the influence includes alcohol, marijuana, cocaine, inhalants and other controlled substances. The first offense for drunk driving can result in jail time of 24 hours up to 1 year. The minimum fine is currently 865.50 and up to $5,000 plus your driver's license will be suspended for a minimum of 90 days.

Impaired Driving Fact Sheet

2010 Washington DUI Laws

Washington House Bill 2466 - As defined under RCW 46.04.215 the state patrol will provide standards for the certification, installation, repair, maintenance, monitoring, inspection, and removal of ignition interlock devices.

Washington House Bill 2742 - Responsibility of Persons Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicating Liquor or Drugs 

Washington IID - Ignition Interlock Device Program

Ignition interlock devices must be installed on all vehicles operated by anyone who has been convicted of certain alcohol-related offenses. This device detects alcohol on breath and is installed on a motor vehicle. It will prevent an alcohol-impaired person from starting the vehicle and may require random tests to be completed during a drive.

In addition to installing the IID the driver must also obtain an IIL or Ignition Interlock License. This license allows you to drive vehicles equipped with an IID while your normal license is suspended.

Requirements for IIL (Ignition Interlock License):

  • Valid driver license
  • Washington State residence address
  • No convictions of vehicular assault or vehicular homicide within 7 years before the incident you are now requesting an IIL
  • Current suspension is NOT for:
    • Minor in Possession
    • Reckless Driving reduced from alcohol related DUI
    • Vehicular Assault
    • Vehicular Homicide
    • Habitual Traffic Offender

How to apply for Washington Ignition Interlock License

For a list of IIL fees

What if I remove the IID before the end of my requirement?

If the IID is removed early your license will be suspended and if you have a restricted license it will be canceled.

Washington SR22

SR22 Articles

5 Ways to Reduce the Cost of SR22 Insurance

Learn About SR22 Insurance

FR44 Form for Florida and Virginia

Tips to Find Cheap SR22 Insurance Online

How to Remove or Cancel SR22 Filing Without Being Penalized

Will My Auto Insurance Company Drop Me After A DUI?

 

State Resources

Department of Motor Vehicles

Driver's License Office Locations

Driving Record Copy

Drivers License Reinstatement Online

 

SR22 Insurance FAQs

What is an SR-22?

Where do I get cheap SR22 insurance?

Can I get an SR-22 if I don't own a car?

How long is the SR-22 valid?

How much does SR22 insurance cost?

What if I move to another state, do I need an SR22?

Can I switch insurance companies when I have an SR22?

Who needs an SR22?

Is SR22 insurance valid in multiple states?

Do I need an SR 22 for each vehicle I own?

 

SR22 by State

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana

Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
Washington D.C.
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming