Wisconsin SR22 Insurance

Wisconsin SR22

Why do I need an SR-22 form?

The state of Wisconsin will require drivers with certain license suspensions to file an insurance policy that shows future proof of liability insurance. This policy is a standard auto insurance policy with the SR-22 form attached.

What type of license suspensions require an SR-22 to reinstate?

  • Driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs (DUI)
  • Driving while intoxicated (DWI)
  • Reckless driving
  • Driving without proper insurance
  • Multiple traffic violations resulting in a suspension

How much does SR22 insurance cost in Wisconsin?

The cost to file an SR22 with an insurance company is only $25-$50 depending on the company. Most drivers want to know how much their auto insurance will increase due to an SR22 but it is not the SR22 that causes your rates to increase. It depends on your driving record and the reason you need to file the SR22 such as a DUI/DWI conviction. Try our free service to compare rates from five different companies to get a better idea how much it will cost.

SR22 Quotes:

What happens if I cancel my SR22 insurance policy early?

In the event your policy is cancelled or lapses before the end of your required probation period the insurance company will immediately notify the state. When the state receives notification of the SR22 being cancelled it will suspend your license again until you re-file the SR-22. In most cases you will be required to start the probation period of three years over.

Can I check the status of my SR22 filing with the state?

Yes, the Wisconsin Department of Transportation has a website where you can check the status of your financial responsibility filing. You will need to have your drivers license or social security number and date of birth to check.

Wisconsin SR22 Requirements

The state of Wisconsin requires liability insurance to protect other drivers in the event of an accident. The minimum limits are:

    • $50k Per Person Bodily Injury
    • $100k Per Accident Bodily Injury
    • $15k Property Damage

These limits are in effect June 1st, 2010 in the state of Wisconsin.

Wisconsin now accepts electronic proof of insurance during traffic stops.

Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Wisconsin

Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) Limits:

All drivers with a BAC of .08 or higher
Drivers under 21 with a BAC of .02 or higher
Commercial Vehicle Drivers with a BAC of .04 or higher

Implied Consent Law in Wisconsin

This law requires any driver on the roadways of the state submit to a chemical test of their blood, breath, or urine if an officer of the law believes the driver is operating the vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol. A refusal to take the test can revoke your license for up to one year.

Occupational license in WI

You will be eligible for an occupational license after 30 days if this is the first time you are refusing the chemical road test. If it is your second offense refusal you will be eligible after 90 days.

Wisconsin 2010 DUI Laws

Wisconsin Senate Bill 303 - Vehicle Accident Intoxication Test

Any driver that is involved in an auto accident resulting in death, substantial bodily harm will be required to submit an intoxication test. If the test is refused the driver will be arrested.

Required to get an Ignition Interlock Device?

If you are required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) it must be present in each vehicle you operate unless exempt by the court. The IID must be installed for one year minimum failure to install, removal, disconnection or tampering with the device will result in a six month extension.

What types of convictions require an IID?

  • All repeat Operating While Impaired
  • All refusals - see implied consent law
  • All 1st offense OWI with BAC .15 and higher

What models are approved in Wisconsin and where can I get them?

Approved IID models include:

  • Intoxalock Model 1001A by Consumer Safety Technology Inc
  • Interlock XT by Draeger Safety Inc
  • LifeSafer SC100 by LifeSafer Interlock

For a map of certified installation service centers check the state website.

Wisconsin SR22

SR22 Articles

5 Ways to Reduce the Cost of SR22 Insurance

Learn About SR22 Insurance

FR44 Form for Florida and Virginia

Tips to Find Cheap SR22 Insurance Online

How to Remove or Cancel SR22 Filing Without Being Penalized

Will My Auto Insurance Company Drop Me After A DUI?

 

State Resources

Department of Motor Vehicles

Driver's License Office Locations

Reinstatement Eligibility

 

SR22 Insurance FAQs

What is an SR-22?

Where do I get cheap SR22 insurance?

Can I get an SR-22 if I don't own a car?

How long is the SR-22 valid?

How much does SR22 insurance cost?

What if I move to another state, do I need an SR22?

Can I switch insurance companies when I have an SR22?

Who needs an SR22?

Is SR22 insurance valid in multiple states?

Do I need an SR 22 for each vehicle I own?

 

SR22 by State

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana

Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
Washington D.C.
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming