Texas SR22 Insurance

Texas SR22

The state of Texas requires an SR22 filing if you have been driving without insurance or other violations such as driving under the influence of alcohol. The SR22 form is mandatory for two years from the date of conviction. 

What if I don't own a car, can I still get an SR-22?

Yes, if you don't own a vehicle you can still get non-owner SR-22 form. This type of policy will still meet the requirements of the state for liability insurance but is not related to any specific vehicle.

I let my SR22 insurance policy lapse, what happens now?

If you have cancelled your auto insurance policy with the SR-22 form the state will be notified immediately by the insurance company. Your driver's license may be suspended again and the suspension period may start over again. It is in your best interest to maintain the SR-22 filing for the full period.

How much does SR22 insurance cost in Texas?

Most insurance companies will charge a filing fee of $15 to $40 to add the SR22 filing to an auto insurance policy. The type of policy can be liability only, full coverage, or a non-owner policy. With regards to the cost of such policy it truly depends on the following factors and not directly related to the SR22 filing:

  • Age
  • Address
  • Credit History
  • Driving Record
  • Vehicle Model

SR22 Quotes:

Can I just submit my evidence of insurance to the state for an SR22?

No, the SR-22 form is a certificate the insurance company sends electronically to the state. Your proof of insurance is not sufficient to show financial responsibility if you are required to carry an SR22.

Texas SR22 Insurance Requirements

When you file SR22 insurance in Texas the state requires that the minimum liability limits be in force on the policy for two years. The minimum liability insurance limits are:

    • $25k Per Person Bodily Injury
    • $50k Per Accident Bodily Injury
    • $25k Property Damage

While these limits are minimum they are rarely recommended levels of coverage. It will increase your auto insurance premium if you raise the liability limits but it provides more protection at a small increase. Ask your insurance agent what they recommend based on your financial position.

Texas now accepts electronic proof of insurance during traffic stops.

Suspended License Reinstatement Requirements

In order to reinstate your driver's license you will be required to:

  • Pay reinstatement fee:
    • $125 Blood/Breath Test Refusal
    • $100 DWI
    • $100 Drug Offenses
    • $100 Traffic Violations
    • $100 Medical Revocation
  • Submit proof of SR-22 insurance to Texas DPS
  • If applicable, submit certificate of completion for repeat offenders DWI program. (Only if required by court)

Texas DUI Law

State Blood Alcohol Concentration Levels:

  • Under age 21 = BAC .02 or higher
  • CDL drivers = BAC .04 or higher
  • All drivers = BAC .08 or higher

The fine for your first drunk driving offense in Texas is $2,000 and a mandatory 72 hours jail time. Your drivers license will be suspended for a minimum of 90 days but no more than 1 year.

Implied Consent Law

Every driver who receives a driver's license consents to a chemical test of their blood, breath, or urine to determine their BAC. The refusal of this test will revoke your license and a temporary license will be issued.

Texas IID (Ignition Interlock Device)

An ignition interlock device is required when a driver must maintain an interlock license. This type of license authorizes the driver to operate a motor vehicle equipped with an IID. The cost to install and maintain the IID is the sole responsibility of the driver.

Here are some approved installation centers:

LifeSafer Interlock


Do not remove the installed device prior to your suspension period as it will require you to start the suspension over again.

Texas SR22

SR22 Articles

5 Ways to Reduce the Cost of SR22 Insurance

Learn About SR22 Insurance

FR44 Form for Florida and Virginia

Tips to Find Cheap SR22 Insurance Online

How to Remove or Cancel SR22 Filing Without Being Penalized

Will My Auto Insurance Company Drop Me After A DUI?


State Resources

Department of Motor Vehicles

Driver's License Office Locations

Driving Record Copy

Driver Responsibility Program


SR22 Insurance FAQs

What is an SR-22?

Where do I get cheap SR22 insurance?

Can I get an SR-22 if I don't own a car?

How long is the SR-22 valid?

How much does SR22 insurance cost?

What if I move to another state, do I need an SR22?

Can I switch insurance companies when I have an SR22?

Who needs an SR22?

Is SR22 insurance valid in multiple states?

Do I need an SR 22 for each vehicle I own?


SR22 by State


New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Washington D.C.
West Virginia